The Kooks – “See the World”

When: 7 April 2008
Where: Montebello Bus Route 20 Northbound at San Gabriel and Rush
Who: Several classmates
Weather: Warm, sunny, dry

Fewer than eight weeks remained of high school. Most of us had our fun, and trouble as well, and while even more of our staff had died since the winter, things were winding down. When the AP tests came, Mr. Godinez stopped teaching government and started showing us films like Thank You For Smoking– a movie that changed my life.

I was still hoping to have some fun in San Francisco. In just a few days I was headed to San Francisco State’s open house weekend. This meant missing Bosco’s open house weekend, but I had no other choice. And while I’d been discouraged by the near state-of-emergency caused by the passing of the olympic torch through that city, my first trip up had been thoroughly half-assed and I was hoping to make up for it.

I was introduced to this album by one of our collective girlfriends from Ramona, but whenever I listened to it I thought of San Francisco. What could possibly happen up there?

Fewer than eight weeks remained of high school, but for me those final days would far surpass anything that had happened up to that point.

Next: My first girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

