The White Stripes – “Icky Thump”

When: April 2007
Where: Old Pasadena Parking Lot
Who: My mom
Weather: Warm

My mom decided she needed her own computer, which for me was a massive step forward.

We kept getting PCs that crashed every three years on the dot, so she got a mac. When we pulled into the parking structure, she registered her irritation with this song. I loved it. I first heard about it from Christian Robinson, a guy from my school who generally had terrible taste in music. He got really into dubstep in college.

I hadn’t worked on a Mac since 2nd grade, and I had some catching up to do. Soon I couldn’t imagine working any other way. Soon I was using iMovie. I had a new idea.

Earlier that spring I’d developed a new screenplay called Monty Park, a mockumentary about a high school student who bankrolls his own TV show online. Keep in mind that iCarly wasn’t around yet, and I had my first workable script. The only trouble now was getting into the editing room.

One day, my mom was at home, getting a visit from her friend Linda, mother of the filmmaker Amat Escalante. To impress her, I made an impromptu promotional video for this film I was going to make.

The movie was never made, but I definitely had something new going…and I couldn’t stop. It was as if the past two years had been leading up to that point, a teenage mythology was set up for me to actually make something real. One cold November I’d felt as if I were a new man. His name was Monty Park.

Next: What happens when you get a song stuck in your head, and you love it?

Leave a Reply

