Romeo Void – “Never Say Never”

When: 13 January 2006
Where: San Gabriel Boulevard
Who: Jason Sharkey
Weather: Cold, overcast

The last time I ever started a fight was with a guy in my biology class named Jonathan. He waved his crotch in my face and I went for him. But times had changed and with an additional six inches of height I became nicer. My sense of humour improved. Then one day in biology, he got down on his knee, looked me in the eyes, and said, “Sam, never say never.”

“Okay,” I replied.

“No,” he said, “Never Say Never.”

Again I said “Alright.”

S-Curve

It was exceptionally cold that day, nearly freezing, and I was going to take the bus home that day but I hitched a ride home with a family that lived up Lake from me. Between Boba Tea and a stopover at Huntington Hospital, we rounded the S-Curve on San Gabriel Boulevard and a strange song came on the radio. Never Say Never.

It was quite possibly the creepiest moment of my life.

Next: One of my best teachers, one of the best documentaries ever made, and the horrible math class that brought us all together.

Leave a Reply

