Matisyahu – “King Without a Crown”

When: 10 December 2005
Where: Allegre Lane
Who: My mother
Weather: Cool, clear

16, as I am told, is an important age, so I wanted to mark it appropriately big by inviting many people I hadn’t seen. One of these, of course, was Alex, the girl I had a crush on the year before. This song was on as I got out of the car and marched the world’s longest half-block to her house to hand-deliver her invitation (as I did with everyone). She respectfully declined.

But this story is not about her, it’s about someone else, who I’ve never mentioned but was always there, sort of like this guy:

Next: A mysterious familiar girl.

Leave a Reply

