The Shins – “New Slang”

When: 19 January 2005
Where: In’N’Out Burger in Alhambra
Who: My mom
Weather: Partly cloudy, and amazingly not raining

For some reason, my mom was able to pick me up from my half-day at school, which I had because the entire week was set aside for administering semester exams. The conversation turned to some hot water I’d gotten into with a girl I liked which left me thoroughly disappointed in both of us.

“She’s too secure,” I said, and my mom agreed. As we pulled out of the parking lot, KROQ played an annoying song from that new movie Garden State. Soon it would be back to rain, and school, and bewildering boredom.

Next: Its’ simple math…

2 comments on “The Shins – “New Slang”

  1. Tj says:

    This is irrevelent to this particular article but I don’t know where else I can write this to you. I just read your comment for what’s Alan watching band of brothers review for “why we fight” and you have no idea how happy I am over that fact I am not the only one whom knew that picture was Erwin Rommel. I am a big ww2 buff and recognized who was in the photo right away. Thank you very much for showing me I am not the only one!

Leave a Reply

