Jimmy Eat World – “Pain”

When: 17 December 2004
Where: DBTI Main quad
Who: Several classmates
Weather: Cold, overcast
Book: The Martian Chronicles

On the last day of school, I opted to bring my Gamecube to the design department’s Christmas party, but the only people who ended up playing it were me and my friend Remo. And I hadn’t slept any of the previous night.

Thinking it would save time, I took an unfamiliar series of bus routes home but ended up going the wrong way. I’d been stranded a lot lately; just two weeks earlier my regular hour-late bus skipped me, and everyone was stuck out on the road until well after dark. Before long, the same situation befell me here, and my windbreaker was not enough for the near-freezing night. I don’t remember how, but eventually, late at night, I made it.

Next: God, sex, and doubt: 2005.

Leave a Reply

