Bob Marley – “Get Up, Stand Up”

When: July 2004
Where: Gauss House, Crown College, UC Santa Cruz
Who: Several people
Weather: Cool
Book: The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler

At some point, I was recruited by the Center for Talented Youth to take a summer class in Santa Cruz on mystery novels. What they didn’t make clear is that not only would I be stuck there, I’d be forced to have fun. At best, I got to watch Hitchcock movies and write comics all the time.* At worst, I had to listen to everyone singing along to Don McLean with their own special added lyrics, all spontaneously from people who had never met each other before.

One morning, I woke up to what sounded eerily like John Corbett on the radio, I got out of bed and looked out my open third-story window onto the residency square and saw some guys playing Bob Marley, so I went down and checked it out.

Though mysteries were not my style, my instructor appreciated what I did with the material. When the program ended, I was eating dinner in town when I caught him and his TA Celine on the four-block line to see Fahrenheit 9/11.

His name? Jonathan Goldstein.

*My comics were inspired by American Splendor and would continue until school started, when my dad angrily forbid me to continue out of lack of respect for the genre and general compulsive rage.

Next: Our gloomy freshman year.

Leave a Reply

