Jet – “Are You Gonna Be My Girl”

When: September 2003
Where: Southbound on Lake Avenue
Who: My mother
Weather: Foggy

My mother was driving me to school one morning when this song was on. It’s exhausting, and people got tired of Jet really fast. An AVClub commenter said it best: “Get Born was a pretty cool album as long as it didn’t bug you that every single song sounded like a cover of some classic rock song.” Pretty unoriginal. And as I was going through my classic rock phase at that moment, not to mention their use in a terrible WB sitcom called The Help, Jet had to go.

Next: A bowling party turns into a dissertation on songwriting.

Leave a Reply

