AFI – “Girl’s Not Grey”

When: May 2003
Where: Barnhart Middle School
Who: Several people
Weather: Foggy

In 2003, the word “emo” was thrown around a lot. Emo music, as far as we could tell, was terrible, and while I understand why someone could label AFI as emo, it wasn’t right. But I was still self-conscious about that label, as I worried my ambivalence towards my fellow students might be detected and mistaken for a lifestyle choice.

This song came on as the car pulled into the school parking lot, and keeping all of this in mind I carefully lowered the volume. Not all the way down, as that would make my mother suspicious, but down enough that nobody within six feet or so would hear it.

Next: The dangers of the Renaissance Fair

Leave a Reply

