Bush – “Machinehead”

When: 16 March 2003
Where: Barnhart Middle School
Who: Several classmates
Weather: Cool, clear

Before I begin, I must remark that the only thing weirder than having a blog about all the music you listened to on the radio, is when the DJ who played the music starts reading it. Greetings, Stryker.

 

Happy New Year, everyone, and welcome to 2003. It’s been a long time since the last installment of Background Music, and a full three months have passed since the last song. So, what’s been going on?

For women, lowrise jeans finally made it to west coast middle schools, much to my titillation and later disgust. America was three days from going to war just for the hell of it, but if you spoke against it you’d probably get your ass kicked.

And before this all went down, we had a school dance. I’d gone to the Barnhart dances before, but this one was different. It was St. Patrick’s Day Weekend, I spiked my hair for the last time ever, turned it green, and kicked ass on the dance floor. But suddenly something happened. I stopped having a crush on that one girl, the one that had so compelled me to go to this school. I was free. And it suddenly occurred to me that this dance sucked. I mean, this wasn’t even dance music.

I slept at my Bubby’s, somewhat euphoric. I hung around there every once in a while for a few weeks until I promptly came down with a serious case of the flu.

Next: Rock is Back!™ Meet The Vines!™

Leave a Reply

