Train – “Drops of Jupiter”

When: February 2001
Where: Southbound on El Molino in my mother’s Accord
Who: My mother
Weather: Clear

When I think of this song, I think of two things: First, the movie K-Pax, which makes me think of Jeff Bridges, which makes me think of the Coen Brothers and my constant surprise that Jeff Bridges isn’t Jewish. Second, I think of the drive down El Molino towards Monetery Park. The song sounds nice enough, but knowing now that it came from the craftsmen that brought us “Hey, Soul Sister” makes it considerably more dubious.

Next: Crazy Town opens the door for the alienation that would define the 2000s.

Leave a Reply

