Technotronic – “Pump Up the Jam”

When: December 18, 1999
Where: My mother’s car, eastbound on Woodbury Road
Who: My mother
Weather: cool, clear

Before we move on, let’s say goodbye to my mother’s 1988 Toyota Corolla. This is the last time we’re going to see it.

“Hey kids, here’s a song that goes good with peanut butter– Pump Up the Jam!”

–Mickey Mouse

For my 10th birthday, I really wanted to see Bicentennial Man. I was a sucker for all things futuristic, and 10-year-old boys were among the last people in the world who still liked Robin Williams. We went to see it, and what followed was a long, dull, silly movie. I wanted to like it, but there was nothing there.

We went to drop off my friend Toran, who had his birthday the next day, and on the way back we heard this stupid song on the radio, made worse by my headache from the film and a special introduction by Mickey Mouse.

Stop, just stop.

Next: A new decade (but not a new millennium) dawns. And the results are not encouraging. The year 2000 starts this Monday!

Leave a Reply

