LFO – “Summer Girls”

When: September 1999
Where: My mother’s car
Who: My mother
Weather: Hot, dry

“…Think back to the peculiar and exciting year that was 1999. Slightly crazed by the end of the millenium, we impeached a president for the first time in 131 years. We started paying English majors huge sums of money to create something called “content.” And in a still disturbing bout of mass hysteria, every American man grew some kind of goatee.”

–John Hodgman

Ah, fourth grade. My boy band period. Mr. Hodgman should have added that every American man looked like this:
manly man coming thruI envied Aaron Carter. I watched the first season of Making the Band religiously. I never even liked this song! If 17-year-old me met 10-year-old me, I’d kick my ass.

Next: Brian McKnight gets you in the mood to do the slow, boring nasty.

Leave a Reply

