Cesaria Evora – “Sodade”

When: September 1998
Where: My house
Who: My parents
Weather: Sunny

This song completely terrified me. That’s pretty embarrassing when your nearly nine years old, but like many childhood fears, it came before I developed a basic understanding of Portuguese. Instead of “Sodade” I heard “Saddam.” By playing this music my father was flouting the common knowledge that Saddam Hussein appeared when you called him three times, and I hastily retreated to the laundry room, which I believed was least susceptible to a chemical attack.

Oh, Mr. Wilson!

Next time: My opera phase comes to a screeching halt, and everything changes.

Leave a Reply

