Elton John – “Bennie and the Jets”

When: After dark, February 1998
Where: My mom’s car, exiting the 210 freeway onto North Lake Avenue.
Who: My mother
Weather: Rain

I don’t know what it is about rain that makes me remember so well. One thing about this song is that I wouldn’t have been able to hear it for the first time if it wasn’t raining. The storm systems are strange here; my mother told me that we should take advantage of the opportunity to listen to a radio station based in Ventura County– that could only be heard in Pasadena when it was raining.

Next: Weird Al Yankovic’s sole appearance in my life. And it wasn’t even very long.

Leave a Reply

