Sting – “If I Ever Lose My Faith In You”

When: February 1993
Where: My backyard
Who: My parents
Weather: Sunny

Being a child in the 1990s means being an adolescent in the 2000s. Which I suppose isn’t the worst position. Had I been ten years older, my instructors may have implicated me in all kinds of bizarre parental anxieties; satanists, goths, killer bees. When the Cold War ended, America looked inward, and there wasn’t much to see, so it behooved the media to start making strange assumptions. In the 2000s, as now, there were bigger things to worry about.

Sting was once a force to be reckoned with; the smooth hitmaker was the rage with the aging New Wave crowd in the ’80s and ’90s. Later on, however, his music was relegated into the bargain bin of Easy Listening with the likes of Maxi Priest. Secretary music. Which is why “Fields of Gold” sends me right back to the Principal’s office. But this is about “If I Ever Lose My Faith In You.”

The first time I heard this, I was running around in my backyard in overalls while my parents were lounging around. My mother, in a rare moment of synchronicity, took a mental snapshot of it all, that of course before my mother lost her faith in my father, but not for another sixteen years.

Next: My mother disapproves of my cheery disposition as I pick a favorite Beatle.

Leave a Reply

